Nominations to 2019-20 Committee

Nominations – Committee Member – 2019 – 2020

Four (4) Committee positions are available for the 2019 – 2020 Mount Gambier Harness Racing Club season.

Retiring Committee Members are :  Christine Drury and Bill Jacob; and are eligible to re-nominate, and two vacant positions.

Please contact the Secretary on 0417 082 029, email to obtain a Nomination Form, or visit

All nominations to be received by the Secretary, PO Box 623, Mount Gambier by 5.00 pm, 15 July 2019.

Attached nomination Form.


Elections – 2019-20 Committee

Nominations to the 2019 – 2020 Committee open on 17 June 2019, and Close on 15 July 2019.

There are 4 positions available to the Committee.

The Annual General Meeting is scheduled for Tuesday 20 August 2019.

Nomination forms will be available from the website as from 17 June.


Easter Raffle Results

Results from the Easter Raffle drawn this morning :

1st Anthony Rice – Ticket Orange U65

2nd Helen McDougall – Ticket Blue D53

3rd Darren Earl – Ticket Blue D88

Many thanks to those who purchased tickets.

Happy Easter.


Pony Trots Trophy Presentation – 29 March 2019

2018/19 Trophies:

Pony & Driver of the Year                             Just A Rumour & Jemma Glynn                         Donated by Glynn Harness Racing Stables

Runner-up Pony & Driver of the Year        Super Marley & Holly Phillips                             Donated by Samara Stables

Most Consistent Pony & Driver                   Super Mario & Keeley Formosa                           Donated by Gaylene & Peter Radley

Best Presented Pony                                      Dark Temptation, accepted by Jorja Glynn       Donated by The Sealey Family

Most Improved                                                Slim Dusty, accepted by Amity Formosa           Donated by The Produce Store

Ambassador Awards/Inter Dominion Reps       Amber Formosa, Keeley Formosa & Evie Sealey     Donated by Collins Court Butchers & Mount Gambier Harness Racing Club


Retiring Drivers                                                Nicola Bowditch & Amber Formosa                   Sponsored by Mount Gambier Pony Harness Racing

1st Year Drivers                                                  Jemma Glynn & Jorja Glynn                                Sponsored & presented by Amber Formosa

jemma jorja keeley pt02-1 retiring

Back L-R: Keeley Formosa, Jemma Glynn, Nicola Bowditch, Amber Formosa, Amity Formosa Front L-R: Marnee Formosa, Jorja Glynn, Holly Phillips, Evie Sealey holding prizes donated by Horse Deals, Harry Peacock Plumbing, Fennel Racing & Phillips Racing.

Final Race Meeting for Season Cancelled

The final race meeting for the 2018/19 season is cancelled due to insufficient nominations.

Many thanks to owners and trainers who have supported the club during the season.

Club windup and trophy presentation to be held at the Club on Friday 29 March 2019, commencing with a BBQ at 6.30 pm.  (Gold coin donation, Happy Hour drinks).  All welcome.

Monday 25 February 2019 – Amended Race Times

Race Times for the Mount Gambier race meeting scheduled for Monday 25 February 2019 have been amended to :

Race 1 – 1.23pm

Race 2 – 2.03 pm

Race 3 – 2.43pm

Race 4 – 3.23pm

Race 5 – 4.03pm

Race 6 – 4.43pm

Race 7 – 5.23pm


The next Mount Gambier Harness Racing Club race meeting is scheduled for Monday 25 February 2019, commencing at approximately 1.00 pm.

Phil Wood steps aside as President

At the Mount Gambier Harness Racing Club’s Committee meeting on 31 January 2019, the Club accepted the resignation from its long serving President Phil Wood.  Phil is in his 14th year as President, and felt it was an opportune time to step aside to allow the Club to nurture a new President into the role.  Phil has major surgery planned, and this will take some pressure off to assist in his recovery.  Phil will remain on the Committee enabling his vast knowledge to be available to assist the Club (32 years on Committee).
In affecting the change, Michael Lamond has been appointed President until the next Annual General Meeting.
Due to increased work commitments, the Club’s Vice President, Neil Shepherd has also tendered his resignation, with Simon Phillips stepping into that role.  Neil will remain on the Committee and continue to share his extensive experience and knowledge to the Club.
Mick Lamond can be contacted on his mobile 0419 801 592

Gold Cup Calcutta – Friday 18 January 2019


Matthews Petroleum 2019 Mount Gambier Pacing Gold Cup and TAB Pacing Cup – Saturday 19 January 2019


Powered by WordPress